Frank T. Martin is President of Frank T. Martin Consult, LLC a public transportation management consultancy providing transit operations, management, strategic business development and sales services to the public and private sectors. He has over 40 years’ experience operating, maintaining, and planning rail (heavy, light, streetcar, commuter, and people mover) and bus transportation systems. He has served as CEO and COO for several of the nations’ largest urban transit systems. He served as a Senior Management Executive for two global transportation and engineering companies headquartered in Montreal, Canada and London,
England respectively, Atkins North America (Member of the SNC Lavalin Group) and First Transit (formally ATE Management and Services Company, Inc.).
From a community involvement perspective, Martin has served on numerous national, state, and local boards including the American Public Transportation Association (APTA), Silicon Valley Workforce Investment Board (SVWIB), and Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO). Martin has been active in COMTO since 1978. As a passionate member of COMTO, he was instrumental in re-energizing the two COMTO Chapters… Miami-Dade in 1992 and Northern California in 2002.
Under his leadership as President of the Miami Chapter, the chapter hosted one of the most successful Awards Banquets during his tenure.
In 2006, he received the COMTO Thomas E. Neusom Founder’s Award and served on the National Board of Directors, as an At-Large Member, Treasurer and Executive Committee member between 2008 and 2014. Additionally, he served as the Annual Fundraising Chairman and Nominations Committee Chairman for the Annual National Meeting and Training Conference for several years.   He has also served on several committees as needed to ensure the mission and vision of COMTO continues.
In September of 2016, Martin was inducted into the APTA Hall of Fame a special honor reserved for individuals who have long and distinguished careers who have made extraordinary contributions to public transportation.  Martin was cited for his mentorship of emerging transportation leaders and founding the International Rail Rodeo, a skills competition for operators and maintainers which recently celebrated its 26th Anniversary.
Martin served with distinction for six years on the Board of Governors of Florida’s State University System (SUS), chairing the Strategic Planning, Academic Affairs, and Medical Education Committees. He championed three milestone initiatives during his last year as Chair of the Strategic Planning Committee of the Board of Governors which included the update of the SUS Strategic Plan, development of the SUS Accountability Report and establishment of the Annual Work Plan reporting process. SUS Universities are required annually present their Work Plans at the June meeting of the Board of Governors.
Martin received his Bachelor’s of Science Degree in Business Administration from Tennessee State University and Master’s Degree in Urban and Regional Planning from Fisk University.
Mr. Martin has been and continues to be instrumental in the professional growth and development of minority individuals.

Need help? Give Us a Call at (305) 965-5201.

The Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO) was created to provide a forum for minority professionals in the transportation industry. COMTO’s membership includes individuals, groups, transportation agencies, private sector corporations, non-profit organizations, and Historically Underutilized Businesses (HUBs).

Contact Us